Yesterday's Magazette

August 1, 2009

Get Ready! YM Fall Issue Goes Live Sept. 1

Hello, folks:

*Subscribe and follow me on Twitter at: http://twitter.com/BurkeEbooks and I’ll send you 2 FREE e-books!

Ned Burke here welcoming you to Yesterday’s Magazette.

Burke1973

(Here  I am in 1973 pasting up the very first edition of Yesterday’s Magazette.)

Contributors often ask me what kind of stories and articles does YM want.

Our Guidelines For Submissions at right is a good starting point. But in addition to personal essays, I’d like to see some general interest articles on such topics as:

*YESTERDAY’S OBJECTS – Samples: old toys, cars, clothes, collectible items, whatever.

* YESTERDAY’S FADS – Samples: the Hula-Hoop, short-shorts, hair styles like the Jackie Kennedy look, the flattop, D.A., you name it.

* YESTERDAY’S TV SHOWS/STARS – Samples: The Show of Shows, The Dick Van Dyke Show, Ed Sullivan, Colgate Comedy Hour, etc.

*YESTERDAY’S MOVIES/STARS – Samples: Citizen Kane, Rebel Without A Cause, Gone With The Wind, etc.

* YESTERDAY’S COMEDY TEAMS – Samples: Laurel and Hardy, Martin and Lewis, Abbott and Costello, etc.

These are a few ideas off the top of my head. I’m sure you can come up with a lot more.

So, in this time of economic and world uncertainty, why not return with me to Yesterday?

Right now, on my desk, I have a sign that reads: “Live in the past; it’s cheaper!”

Very true. But I’ve found that visiting the past can be a lot of fun as well.

So join me in YM’s goal of preserving our yesterdays for tomorrow’s generations.

Well, that’s it for now. As always, I look forward to your comments.

E. P. Ned Burke

PS/ Feel free to follow me on Tweeter at: http://twitter.com/nedburke

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

